KC Misemer

Senior Vice President

How long have you worked for/with the Port? Appoximately 9 years

What are your main responsibilities? I manage all aspects of client – bank relationships for mid - market / large organizations. I work with companies in distribution, manufacturing, petroleum, healthcare and insurance, but my favorite is the maritime industry and some of my favorite clients are in our local port community. I assist clients with loans, deposits, treasury management, corporate investments, and even international needs. For my clients in the port community, this often involves providing financing for capital needs (cranes, vessels, barges, heavy equipment), expanding to a new market, or acquiring another company.

What do you love most about your job? I really enjoy learning about companies, their history and development, and getting to know the ownership / management teams. I like to find out what is important to people, what they are trying to achieve, and then collaborate with them on a financial solution…it is a great feeling when you can play a role / contribute to a company’s success.

Overall, I think the best part of my job is when long – term business relationships turn into lasting friendships. This is especially true within our local maritime industry, where I have found the people to be very welcoming and inclusive. Over the past 9 years, through volunteer involvement and business relationships, I have been able to meet so many people (in all different roles) in the Port Tampa Bay community, and it has been fun to make some great friends along the way!

What advice would you give to the younger generation? Be kind to others, treat people the way you want to be treated. Be a good listener, try new things, be curious, and when you have an interest in someone or something -- show your interest, ask questions, and learn more! As you get older and enter the workforce, find a job that challenges you that will keep you motivated to continually learn and grow. Overall, try to maintain a good balance between family / work / play.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? When I was younger, I went back and forth between wanting to be a fishing guide or an attorney. I wanted to be a fishing guide because I grew up on the water, fishing and camping and water-skiing, and thought it would be great to be out in a boat every single day.

I also wanted to be an attorney for a time, like my Dad and Grandfather. But in college and for my MBA, I pursued finance and now have been in the banking industry for more than 17 years. I do feel like my current role incorporates some minor elements of "a day in the life" of an attorney, with a fair amount of review and writing…plus I like working with counsel when we need to negotiate a certain point or create a customized loan document for a unique financial solution.

When you are not at work, what do you enjoy doing? I love to spend time with my family, traveling, fishing, boating, and enjoying the outdoors.